Travel food

YAY I’m finally in America!!! I’m all settled in so now I can spend some time on the computer to catch up on what my eats have been for the past couple of days (I wasn’t able to take photos of everything but I’ll post what I have^^)

My traveling day started out busy with last-minute checking etc. so in the few moments I got to relax, I loaded up on my favorite high fiber tofu ice-cream for breakfast (hey, it’s healthy!! 😉 ) so that I would stay satisfied in case I didn’t eat for a while. Then I headed over with my mom and brother to the bus that would take us to the airport.

As a snack at the airport, I bought these two jelly-like traditional Japanese desserts called “mizu-youkan.” Their initial flavor was very yummy at first, not too sweet with a smooth and slightly grainy texture, but it kind of got tiring after a while (it was nice for a change but probably won’t buy again)

(on the left is green tea flavor, and on the right is the sweet red bean paste flavor)

My mom had pre-ordered the vegan meals for me on the plane (thanks mom!) so I was able to have a relatively nice dinner and breakfast, a little bland maybe, but better than brownie, chicken curry, sausage, and custard-filled croissant!

This was my vegan dinner aboard United Airlines:

Boiled (?) veggies (bak choi, carrots, radishes, olives, and potato wedges -no flavorings), a green salad (w/ lemon wedge),  a roll (didn’t eat the roll), and fruit salad

This was my brother’s dinner;

Chicken curry, white rice, a bit of veggies, a green salad (came w/ packaged salad dressing), a different type of roll, and a brownie

My vegan breakfast:

Apple chunks and raisins in a sweet cinnamon sauce and polenta (I’ve never had polenta but I think that’s what it was -no flavor at all except for a miniscule amount of cinnamon on top)

My brother’s breakfast:

Sausage, hash brown, cheese and spinach eggs, and a cream filled croissant

All in all, not so bad but a little lacking in flavor… the movies were good though! 😉

Skipping over to the first night in the USA, we (my cousins and relatives) had a BIG barbeque where I got to try my FIRST EVER VEGGIE BURGER!!!!

I had one of these with lettuce, tomato, pickles, onions, fruit salad and some blackberry pie (without the crust) and the whole meal was VERY YUMMY!!! :DDD

The next day I slept in a little and then worked out for 2 HOURS with my aerobics-teaching aunt and cousin doing aerobics (obviously), pilates, and yoga! It was physically tiring but a TON of fun exercising with my wonderful family and good music. Afterwords, we fueled our bodies with some healthy foods:

We each had half of a whole-wheat english muffin broiled with a slice of tofurella (tofu-cheese) and topped with spinach and tomato, PLUS blueberries and pineapple (I also added a sprinkle of flax seeds and almonds. Yes, you heard me, FLAX SEEDS!!!! AT LAST!!!! I absolutely loved their nutty flavor and the way they vaguely reminded me of sesame seeds). A perfect lunch…

This is the tofurella (lol tofu mozzerella!) that we used. My aunt was very pleasantly surprised to discover it in her fridge 😛

More updates coming later!! ❤

Leave a Reply

