PB&J and eggs

WOW I slept 12hrs last night!!! -the result of an exhausting exam week hehe. Another result… my body seems to have taken a hit because I caught a nasty cold 😦 so I’ve been trying to have a ton of warm and hot things like oatmeal and soup to heat me up. What do you eat/do when you have a cold?

I started out the late day with a “hot” (temperature-wise and popularity-wise) classic flavor combo: Peanut butter and jelly!!

PB&J Oats

  • 1/2c. Bran sticks
  • 1c. Water
  • Mango tea-bag
  • 1/2tsp. Chia seeds
  • 1/4c. Egg whites
  • 1/2c. Pumpkin
  • 70g. Raspberries
  • Vanilla essence
  • Almond essence
  • Caramel powder
  • Cinnamon
  • Natural sweetener
  • Toppings (Chopped nut mix (almond, peanut, cashew), rasperries, natural sweetener, and cinnamon)

Prepare as you would Dessert Oats. The tea-bag is to be put in at the beginning and removed before egg whites are added.

To tell the truth, I had not intended to go for a specific flavor but the PB&J flavor that came from the nuts and the raspberries (the pumpkin texture was vaguely peanut buttery) was a very welcome surprise!! I also added a sprinkle of salt on the nuts (salty nuts are kinda my weakness… this way I can have that flavor without going overboard), but only on the nuts and the end result was very tasty. You could try replacing the raspberries with strawberries or blueberries etc. for a different “jam” flavor, but make sure not to leave out the pumpkin which is essential for the texture!!

    

 

I had to finish up my egg whites today before I leave on vacation (I’m going to keep blogging btw!! There will be SO many new things to experience in USA!!!), and I suddenly had a craving for some mexican food!  So I decided to make a frittata (even though I think it’s Spanish lol) and have it with salsa, which is always in supply in our house.

I started out with a huge plateful of diced veggies (pumpkin, zucchini, eggplant, onion)…

 

Sauteed them in a pan with fresh garlic, nutritional yeast (for a cheesy flavor), and taco seasoning…

Added eggwhites and some more seasoning on top…

Tada!!!

On the left side is mild salsa (I’m not too keen on ultra-spicy things but I do love me some salsa!! 😛 ) and on the left is a new sauce I created based on my calico beans recipe; it was PERFECT with the frittata, although not so mexican… oh well! So I got to have two different sauces to eat with my cheesy, taco-y, veggie-filled frittata =) It was VERY satisfying and I enjoyed every bite!!

Mexican Frittata

  • 100g. Pumpkin
  • 50g. Zucchini
  • 50g. Eggplant
  • 50g. Onion
  • 1/2c. Egg whites
  • 1 clove Diced garlic
  • Taco seasoning
  • Nutritional yeast

Sautee veggies with spices until desired consistency, then add egg whites and more spices if needed. Thats how simple it is!!!

 

Sweet Tomato Sauce

  • 1tbsp. Tomato paste
  • 1tbsp. Dijion mustard
  • Natural sweetener
  • Water (to thin)

Mix and dip (or spread) !!

This can be used as a dipping sauce, a pizza sauce, or any other kind of sauce for that matter because you can adjust the flavoring to suit just about any type of dish!! -very versatile!

Hope you enjoyed this post!!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 03:20:25

    Hey Marina! Yummy blog! Have an AMAZING time in the US!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

