Comfort food :)

Last night I baked the spaghetti squash with a sprinkle of coconut powder until it became a little crunchy on the inside, and this morning a new creation was born!!!

 I’ve had a craving for some Baked Alaska (a scrumptious dessert with sponge cake topped with a mound of icecream, then slathered and baked with meringue) recently, and after finding out how wonderfully nutty and sweet spaghetti squash was, I wondered, how would it work as a crust? After all, we use potato in baked goods right? Why not squash?

So I filled it with fruit sorbet and then topped it with a ton of meringue and baked it for a minute or so in the oven== Tropical Baked Alaska!!!! Or as I decided to call it, Flamin’ Coconut!!!

Flamin’ Coconut

Crust:

  • 1/2 Spaghetti squash
  • Coconut powder

Filling:

  • 1 Frozen banana
  • 50g. Frozen Raspberries
  • 50g. Frozen Pineapple
  • 1/4tsp. Vanilla Essence
  • 1/4 tsp. Coconut Syrup/essence

Meringue:

  • 8g. Egg white powder
  • 60ml. Water
  • Powdered Sweetener

For a relatively quick breakfast, pre-cook the squash the night before by cutting it in half, scooping out the seeds and gook, placing the halves cut side down in a pan with about 2cm. of water, and cooking them for about 35min. at 180 degrees celcius. Then drain water, turn cut side up, sprinkle with coconut, and continue baking for about 30mins. until slightly crispy on the inside.

In the morning, blend the filling ingredients together until a smooth icecream-like paste is formed and spoon into squash crust. Freeze until ready, and preheat oven to 210 degrees celcius.

After quickly cleaning blender (or not if you don’t mind the meringue turning pink), blend meringue ingredients until stiff but not dry. Then pile the meringue on top of the sorbet and bake until the top is browned. Sprinkle with cinnamon, coconut, and maple syrup and devour!!!! Not only was the flavor amazing (nutty, fruity, creamy) but the colors were amazing too!  (・o・)   Hence the “flamin'” 🙂

 Stage 1                    

                   Stage 2                                                

 Stage 3 

I thought I would be able to eat a late lunch at home since today was a half day at school, but when I was watching a video for one of my classes after school one of the guys in my class tripped on the cord and the dvd machine fell and broke!! :O  So because of the “minor delay” I ended up getting home pretty late so I had a yummy snack: 80cal. Strawberry Tofu-ice cream Sundae ❤ You can see how it’s got strawberry-chocolate-chip, vanilla and strawberry sauce layers. Its got 2.2g. protein, 3.5g. fat, 7.9g. fiber, and only 80cal!!! Soo goood~ The only downfall is that it contains a little dairy, but I’m willing to overlook that considering it uses coconut oil, tofu, and has no sugar 😉

Then for dinner, I was in the mood for my version of comfort food, which equals A TON OF VEGGIES!!!!!!!!!!

I used SEVEN different types of vegetables, and it was jam packed with vitamins and satisfying yumminess!! (I had two HUGE bowls 😛 )

Sweet Oriental Veggie Stew

  • Water
  • Konbu stock (dashi) powder
  • Soy sauce
  • Natural sweetener
  • VEGETABLES (in this case: cabbage, spinach, onion, eggplant, enoki mushrooms, maitake mushrooms, pumpkin. Also good options are carrots, shitake mushrooms, bean sprouts, shirataki noodles, potato etc.)

From my own experience, I have found that the right amount of each ingredient varies with different individuals. For example, I like mine with a little extra sweetness, and sometimes some extra soy sauce for a richer flavor. DON’T FORGET THE PUMPKIN because that is what makes the broth a little thicker and is essential for the flavor!!! You could probably substitute with sweet potato or normal potato and get similar results, but I prefer pumpkin for the vitamin A boost and fewer calories. It’s the perfect dish for people who like to sit down and chill with a big bowl of steaming mushiness (but usually resort to high calorie, meat or milk containing chili or stew).

 

(See how the small bits of pumpkin melted and gave flavor/color/texture to the liquid? 🙂 )

After taking this photo, I added okara powder for some protein and it was heavenly!! I will definitely have to try making some sort of okara stew with mushy pumpkin sometime soon!!

 Question of the day: What is your favorite happy-healthy-comfort food?

Leave a comment