Oh My Squash!!

Woke up today like a zombie with a bad headache and was in desperate need of an easy pick-me-up!!

Was craving soygurt===major cereal mess!!!   

 

  • 1/2c. Bran cereal mixture (organic bran sticks and high fiber bran crunch)
  • 40g. Frozen Raspberries from package
  • 40g. Banana
  • 1 carton (110g) Soy fruit-flavored yogurt
  • 1/2tsp. Chia seeds
  • Cinnamon

It was soo creamy and cruchy and fruity!! Plus, even though the raspberries weren’t fresh (fresh ones are waay too expensive in Japan; normally maybe $10 for 150g?!), they were actually super sweet and didn’t taste bland or weird like some frozen fruits do.

Some snackage went on during breakfast as well 🙂 Couldn’t help myself, it was amazing with the bananas and cinnamon!

all gone~ sob… 😥

 

Because of lack of time and good results from previous day, lunch was same as yesterday but with cherry tomatoes added~~

I ate a little early so I would have fuel to do my singing test (in music class) well and quickly review my world history papers because after lunch was the final exam!!!

It was so hot today that on my way home I stopped and got my favorite soy icecream cool down

haha already halfway gone by the time I took the photo 😉

The actual icecream has chocolate icecream on the bottom, softserve type vanilla on top with a little chocolate topping- my add-ins were raspberries, bran crunch, Nutopia, and maple syrup.

Then I got started on my real meal which was Vegan Calico Beans!

I have a very long history with calico beans (a bean, baked bean,veggie and minced meat dish), having huge servings of it every year when I go camping with my family. But obviously, something had to be done about the meat, brown sugar, and ketchup content! So I experimented with my own substitutions and came up with this:

Vegan Calico Beans

  • 1/2c. Beans (I used black this time)
  • 50g. each Diced asparagus, green pepper, onion, mushroom (any combo is great but make sure you don’t leave out the onion and peppers!!)
  • 1/4c. Diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1/4c. Water
  • 1tbsp. Tomato paste
  • 1/2tsp. Dijion mustard
  • Sweetener
  • Caramel powder

Just cook everything together in a pot until the veggies are the right softness! High in protein, fiber, and vitamins and ultra good 🙂

After eating, I baked spaghetti squash for the first time and it turned out great!!!! The flavor was sweet with a hint of nuttiness so I plan to use it tomorrow in a new concoction… stay tuned!!

 

Leave a Reply

