More power to legumes!!

I woke up this morning to find an almost empty jar of nut butter!!! :O

*read My Story to see why this is so amazing!!

This week, ever since I experimented with making my own nut butter, I have been COMPLETELY addicted to nuttiness!! For the past year or so I’ve been refusing to eat peanut butter and other nuts because of their high oil and fat content.

*cough*

 right.

That is no excuse to not eat one of my favorite foods!!! For one thing, the fats in nuts are mostly monounsaturated fats which are the healthy type of fat that reduce bad cholesterol (LDL) levels and they are jam-packed with vitamins and minerals like vitamin E, calcium, magnesium, zinc, phosphorus, folic acid, fiber and protein!! W.O.W.

Plus, the added oil and sugars are no excuse because if you make your own, you can have control over what goes into the recipe!! So on Saturday, I made a small batch of nut butter with equal amounts of almonds, peanuts, and pistachios and added 100% canadian maple syrup (great source of antioxidants) for sweetness. ohh booyyyy

 As you can see, its pretty thick and even a little crumbly, so I did a little research (I didn’t want to add oil) and found out that a lot of people blend in water!

It became reealy nice and creamy but didn’t lose any of its nutty flavor!!! YAY XD

It was such a success that I decided it HAD to have an official name: NUTOPIA  (“Utopia” is used to describe a perfect world/ society but originally means a place that doesn’t exist. Therefore, nuts + utopia = perfect world of nuts that didn’t exist till my amazing godly creation mwahaha 😛 ) It’s amazing because its SOO good and SOO healthy and eating tons of it I don’t feel guilty at all!! Whats more, I actually feel like my body is jumping for joy because of all the healthy boosts its getting, and it is sooooooo decadent 🙂

My conclusion: It is the perfect food for your mental and physical health

And for those of you out there who are worried about weight gain, if you are eating a regularly healthy diet, a couple tsp/tbsp of Nutopia or other healthy nut creations will most likely not make you gain weight. (Look up studies on nuts on the internet) I’ve been consuming nut butter at an alarming rate (a couple tbsp a day at least) but that has not had a bad affect on my weight at all!! EUREKA!! 🙂

So those two jars were finished off in 4 days by ME only! hehe… and this morning I declared an emergency of no more nut butter! So tonight I made a double batch of Nutopia, this time with cashews instead of pistachios. I also added a little more water which reduced the calorie amount to roughly 20cal per tsp!! So even if I go crazy and have a giant tbsp at once its only 60 cal of healthy bliss!!!!

…………NUTTYFEST!!!!!!!……….

Nutopia

  • 1c. Almonds*
  • 1c. Peanuts*
  • 1c. Cashews*
  • 1tbsp. 100% Maple Syrup
  • 1/4tsp. Light Molasses
  • 1/2tsp. Vanilla Essence
  • 1 1/2c. Water

Blend blend blend!!! (Reserve a handful of nuts to add at the end for nut chunks)

*You can use any combination of nuts, just make sure the nuts have been roasted/ cooked without extra oil!

For different flavors, try adding cinnamon, cocoa powder, extra vanilla or molasses etc. Be creative!

My reccomendation for optimum nutrition is to blend in a good amount of flax seeds, but I’ll also point out that I have not tried it yet since flax is nowhere to be found 😉

Okay, so now I’ll do a recap of my day’s eats:

Started out with an interesting blend of flavors: Mango, banana, caramel, coffee, cocoa, coconut, peanuts = Konabanana Oats

Konabanana Oats (inspired by Maegan‘s Fluffy French Toast Oats (from ohhmay.com)

  • 1/4c. Oats
  • 1/2tsp. Chia Seeds
  • Mango teabag
  • 1/2c. Water

Mix and let sit overnight in the fridge.

  • 1/4c. Water
  • 1/4c. Egg whites
  • 1/2 (50g.) Melted banana
  • 1tbsp. Cocoa Powder
  • 1tbsp. Coffee
  • Caramel Powder
  • Drop of Vanilla and almond essence
  • Natural Sweetener
  • Coconut (About 1/2tsp.)
  • Nutopia (1 tsp? I ran out…)
  • Chopped Peanuts (Maybe around 5-10. It turns into a lot after they’re chopped)
  • Coffee grounds (Just a sprinkle)

After putting the oat blend in the hot pan with the 1/4c. water, mix in the banana (melted in the microwave) and then the egg whites into the bubbly mixture. The other flavorings are optional and you can put in what you want according to your mood. Just remember, don’t be afraid to add those nuts!! 🙂 They’ll make you mentally and tummy-wise satisfied.

(For those who are curious, it all came out to be about 270cal. with about 7g. fiber.)

Lunch was really grab-and-go easy- Hummus (mashed chickpeas with a touch of soysauce and sweetener) and raw zucchini sticks! It was amazingly yummy! The sweet soysauce hummus is unusual, yes, but I definitely reccomend it!!

After school I was exhausted (still very tired from staying up late for English term paper and exam) and I felt like having DESSERT 😀 So I made a super-version of my Pumpkin Power Pie recipe.

Pumpkin Super-power Pie

  • 10g. (1/3c. egg white equivalent) Egg white powder
  • 100ml. Water
  • 3/4c. Steamed mashed pumpkin
  • 100g. Soy yogurt (vanilla is possible)
  • 1tsp. Natural Sweetener
  • Caramel Powder
  • Vanilla essence
  • Pumpkin pie spice

Blend egg white powder with water until meringue is formed, then blend in pumpkin, 1/2 the yogurt and other flavorings. Then microwave for about 1min30sec at 1000w. until firm pie-texture on top. Top with more yogurt and spices and enjoy!!! It is a very satisfying meal full of protein, vitamins, and fiber. (About 180-230cal depending on how much sweetener/syrup you use.)

Then I had a lot of Nutopia tasters ;D  heehee

Question of the day: Why is this a tribute to legumes?

Answer: Peanuts at brekkie (breakfast in Australian-slang), hummus at lunch, soy yogurt at dinner. Get it now? ❤

Now I need to go study for my world history exam tomorrow!… while riding stationary bike 🙂

Leave a Reply

